Cities of Belgium.

Tourist information about popular cities in Belgium.

Brussels: As the capital city of Belgium and the administrative center of the European Union, Brussels attracts visitors with its rich history, stunning architecture, cultural landmarks, and vibrant atmosphere. Must-visit attractions include the Grand Place (map), Atomium (map), Manneken Pis (map), The Royal Palace and numerous museums, along with its renowned cuisine and chocolate.

Bruges: Known as the “Venice of the North,” Bruges is a charming medieval city with well-preserved architecture, picturesque canals, cobbled streets, and historic sites. Visitors flock to Bruges to explore its fairy-tale-like city center, visit iconic landmarks such as the Belfry of Bruges (map) and Basilica of the Holy Blood (map), and take boat rides along the canals.

Ghent: With its medieval charm and vibrant cultural scene, Ghent is another popular destination in Belgium. The city is famous for its beautifully preserved medieval buildings, including the Saint Bavo’s Cathedral (map) and the Gravensteen Castle (map).

Antwerp: Antwerp is a vibrant and cosmopolitan city known for its fashion, art, and diamond trade. The city offers a mix of modern and historic attractions, including the iconic Antwerp Central Station (map), the Cathedral of Our Lady (map), the Royal Museum of Fine Arts (map), and the trendy fashion and shopping district of Meir (map).

Liège: Located in the French-speaking region of Wallonia, Liège is a historic city with a vibrant atmosphere. It is known for its impressive architecture, including the Liège-Guillemins railway station (map) designed by Santiago Calatrava. Visitors can explore the medieval city center, visit museums, enjoy the local cuisine, and experience the city’s lively cultural scene.

Cities in the directory.

Information about new cities in the process.


Regions of Belgium.

Tourist information about the regions of Belgium.

⇒ Source:

Belgium is divided into three official regions, each with its own government and legislative powers. The official regions of Belgium are:

Brussels-Capital Region: This region is located in the central part of the country and serves as the capital of Belgium. It is officially bilingual, with both French and Dutch as its official languages.

Flanders: Flanders is the northern region of Belgium and is predominantly Dutch-speaking. It encompasses several provinces, including Antwerp, East Flanders, Flemish Brabant, Limburg, and West Flanders. Flanders is known for its rich historical heritage, picturesque cities such as Bruges and Ghent, cultural festivals, and vibrant art scene.

Wallonia: Wallonia is the southern region of Belgium and is primarily French-speaking. It consists of several provinces, including Hainaut, Liège, Luxembourg, Namur, and Walloon Brabant. Wallonia is characterized by its rolling countryside, charming towns, castles, and a focus on gastronomy and local produce.

Useful websites.

Links to additional resources with useful information for planning your trip.


Apply for a visitor visa. Find out what document you need to travel, visit family and friends, do business, or transit through Belgium.

Mobility Planner.

On the app, door-to-door routeplanner for the whole country, covering all forms of public transport (train, tram, bus, metro).

Brussels Museums.

Brussels Museums ( is the non-profit association that brings together more than 120 museums in Brussels.

Smart Mobility Planner – door-to-door routeplanner for the whole country, covering all forms of public transport. – web’s most comprehensive guide to Belgian beers and breweries written especially for beer aficionados. – restaurant search engine and reviews for all Belgium.

Benelux Travel Forum – Ask your travel questions.