The Kingdom of Tonga.

Tips for your trips. Tourist information. Official websites.

Kingdom of Tonga (map) is a Polynesian sovereign state and archipelago comprising 169 islands, of which 36 are inhabited. While exposed to colonial pressures, Tonga has always governed itself, which makes it unique in the Pacific. The largest island, *Tongatapu (map), on which the capital city of *Nukuʻalofa (map) is located, covers 257 square kilometres (99 sq mi).

The capital, Nuku’alofa, on the north coast, has a relaxed air, despite the troubles of a few years ago. There are some interesting places to visit, such as ancient tombs and coastal blowholes, and some nice beaches with good snorkelling. Tongatapu also provides a good opportunity to view a unique culture.

*‘Eua Island (map) is located only 17.5km east southeast from Tongatapu. It has beaches on the western side but dramatic cliffs on the east coast, with Tonga’s largest tropical rain forest, which is a great place to go trekking.

+ Tonga Tourism Authority

The roads are good in and around Nuku’alofa but deteriorate the further from the town and the further south you travel.

⇒ Source:

Why you HAVE TO visit Tonga! Travel Vlog.

I traveled 36 hours to the South Pacific and ended up on one of the islands of the Kingdom of Tonga – Vava’u. From there it was easy to enjoy the blue ass water and explore the deserted islands all around. But why you have to visit is to swim with humpback whales! It was a bucket list trip and one of the most amazing experiences! Join me in exploring the island of Vava’u and then out to sea in order to search for whales and the chance to swim with them!

⇒ video source: Life by Linda /